Training details

calendar_today Wednesday, November 10, 2021

access_time 10:30 am - 12:00 pm ET

place Candid
Online

place Online
Eastern: 10:30 am - 12:00 pm
Central: 9:30 am - 11:00 am
Mountain: 8:30 am - 10:00 am
Pacific: 7:30 am - 9:00 am

attach_money Free

You must be logged in to enroll for this training.

Login to Enroll

About

Presented in collaboration with New York Lawyers for the Public Interest

Are you interested in forming a nonprofit organization? Starting a nonprofit requires navigating a complex legal process, but you don’t need to do it alone.

This workshop, intended for organizations that are just setting up, will spell out the process for getting started.

Important:

This will be a virtual program, taking place via Zoom. After registration, in advance of the program you will receive an email with instructions as to how to join the Zoom meeting.

Please note that Candid only provides recordings of our events to registrants.

If in addition to this training you would also like to assess the big-picture questions surrounding a nonprofit formation decision, you can also join us one week before this program for our free class, Is Starting a Nonprofit Right for You?.

Outcomes

  • Define what it means to be a nonprofit vs. tax-exempt
  • Explain the advantages and disadvantages of this type of formation
  • Comprehend the application process for establishing your organization

Intended audience

  • Beginner
  • Nonprofit startups

Featuring

Laura E. Butzel Partner and Chair, Tax-Exempt Organizations Group Patterson Belknap
Justin Zaremby Senior Associate, Tax-Exempt Organizations Group Patterson Belknap
Susan M. Vignola Associate Patterson Belknap Webb & Tyler LLP

By enrolling in this training, you agree to grant Candid permission to document this session with photography, film, and/or video. Material captured may be used in future publications, brochures, or other printed materials used to promote Candid. Please inform instructor if you do not agree to these conditions.